Librarypaula's Blog

Thoughts, ideas and innovation on libraries, books and information navigation.

Being bold September 17, 2012

Filed under: LIANZA,School Libraries,thinking — librarypaula @ 10:18 pm
Tags: , ,

This year’s LIANZA conference is less that a week away from kicking off.
Palmerston North is conference HQ and the theme is Ipukarea – Sustain, Celebrate and Transform. The lineup of speakers that appeal to those of us working in the education sector is the best I’ve seen for years.
My must see people include DK – from Core Education, Meridith Farkas – author of “Social Software in Libraries: Building Collaboration, Communication and Community Online” and Karen Schneider – University Librarian at Holy Names University in Oakland, California and author of the blog The Free Range Librarian.
Karen’s most recent post; Hatchett job, and other pre-Lianza musings really spoke to me, and I found myself reading slower, re-reading and really reflecting on her well chosen words.She prefaced her blog post with the theme Be Bold, which sits very well with me this term. I even took some quotes!
“I remember being told, ages ago, that 85% of information transfer among scientists is informal, and I’d be willing to agree that applied to library leadership, as well. Many a library leader germinated leadership skills, ideas, and powerful connections within the world of professional organizations. Look at the truly significant thought leaders, and most cut their teeth through organizational participation.” is one that really spoke to me.
I’m hoping to make an opportunity to chat with Karen at conference as Aoraki LIANZA have co-sponsored her.I’ll get to be part of her introduction or facilitate the panel of questions after her presentation.
Very exciting stuff!
And, throughout the conference I intend make the most of the potential information transfer that the networking and presentations offer.
It’s been a three years since I last went to a LIANZA conference. I’m incredibly grateful to Aoraki LIANZA for the financial support they’ve given me to attend conference, thank you team 🙂

 

Leave a comment